September 22

Week 3

Hello All,

This has been a busy week for the grade 5s.

It was very nice to meet so many parents on Back-to-School night.
If you were unable to attend and want to come in for a quick after school visit please reach out.
The students we have been looking at multiplication in Math and both classes were able to use there refined and new skills in a game of multiplication Bingo.
In ELA, we have started the novel Wonder. We were introduced to the story and author. Now we are well under way reading and responding to comprehensive questions.
Some ELA students got outside to use their creative thinking where they picked an object and used a graphic organizer for creative writing to describe the object through: smell, listening, seeing, touching, tasting.
In Science, we are continuing with the digestive system – it is our intention to use the 3D printer to make a scaled model on the organs we have been studying.
With Social Studies, the class had to unfold a GIANT floor map that could only be spread out on the gym floor. This map is a geographical and history look into the Indigenous communities in Canada.
Some homework starting next week…
Social Studies Map Work
SK Reading Buddies
\
Science Maker Space
ELA Creative Writing with 5 Senses


Posted September 22, 2023 by cwatters23 in category Uncategorised

About the Author

I am a developing teacher with many years of experience teaching at all age levels. I was born and raised in Nova Scotia and as a younger adult I served in the Canadian Navy. I retired in 2011 and moved to Baltimore, Maryland where I graduated from Towson University with my teaching education. I have taught in Halifax, New Hampshire and most recently, I taught at a local Forest school and a Montessori high school.

1 thoughts on “Week 3

  1. ashleybeswick

    Hi Grade 5!

    WOW! What a week! I love that you are having so many opportunities for hands-on learning. This makes learning concepts relevant and practical.

    Wonder is one of my favourite books – I look forward to hearing your thoughts about the novel.

    I am jealous of your giant map activity! That looks like such a blast and such a fun way to relate to the learning material.

    I hope I’m walking by when you’re in the Makerspace one day – your classes look like such a blast and I cannot wait to see your 3D models!

    Have a fantastic week!

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*